Character Inspiration: Aiden Finnegan

For me, little things inspire the creation of a character. I am the type of writer who does not sit around bouncing around ideas, they just come to me. I have control over the words I use to tell the story, but the story itself.. well, it really forms itself.

The same is true for characters. If ever I said, “I need a love interest for my hero”, I would sit around for days coming up with all these female characters that I have absolutely no attachment to. Why? I couldn’t tell you. What I can tell you though, is the ones that simply pop up are always the ones that stay.

Characters popping up into my mind do have a beginning, or at least I think they do. Most of them do.

For Aiden, it was my Western Literature course. We had just read Much Ado About Nothing, and I’ll admit I had no idea what had gone on. I don’t do well with Shakespeare unless it’s on the stage or in film. I really enjoy his characters and plots, but the language I just can’t get. The modern “translated” versions of his work are just lame, so I opt for a visual experience.

Luckily for me, we were watching the 1993 Kenneth Branagh film in class one day because my professor thinks the way I do. He knew we didn’t get it. Also, because I can’t just sit there and watch a movie, I pulled out my notebook and started to do some doodling.

The movie is progressing and I’m growing pretty fond of Don John and his brooding misery and then I looked down at what I had drawn only to find a stylized depiction of Keanu Reeves as Don John with a little bit sharper features, and much more emotion of a scowl on his face. In cursive, as some sort of a signature, I assume, I had written ‘Aiden Jayson Finnegan’.

And then he was born. Inspired by Keanu Reeves.

I sometimes forget, or maybe repress Aiden’s origins. I mean, he played a good stoic jerk, but Mr. Reeves isn’t exactly the most badass of fellows.

So. Now that I have a new character, naturally his story is coming forth, Luke and Wentworth joined him within twenty minutes, and I began my greatest writing adventure yet.

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

One response to “Character Inspiration: Aiden Finnegan

What say you?

