The Joys of History

One of the most glorious things about writing stories set in a universe created by myself is the decided lack of laws to be followed. I’ll admit that I’m a cheat, and I really only do this so that I am free to have historical and fashionable inaccuracies. That’s really all there is to it, but well, when you give a mouse a cookie and all.

That’s not to say that I don’t do my research–I do. I do a lot of it because no matter how much of a world you create, there have to be some consistencies. I choose to keep it as closely related to our mother Earth as possible, then pick, choose, and rearrange minor details for a believable universe that may sound fantastical (or not, in the case of this story), but is still quite simple to relate to.

Even if I weren’t writing in my own universe and I was just writing in the setting of, say, 1790, (which is easily around which time The Noble Project might take place (for fashion reasons), but then again maybe not (for pretty much any other reason that would not fit into the timeline of European history. Like I said, I cheat.).) we have a lot of scientific ignorance. Or, lack of scientific fact! (Also, this paragraph is just a mess. Whatever. I’m exhausted.)

Because there is a lack of modern science and medicine, my characters are allowed to be completely ignorant of what we know today, and can get away with things like this:

Aiden flicked some ash down the front of her bodice as she said this, watching some of the pieces flutter down between her breasts. This woman was one of his favourites. It was unfortunate for her that she knew this.

“Men do not die from smoking, Cassandra,” he said coolly, “men die from swords, bullets and plagues. Men die from the Infection, and they die from the noose. I might venture so far as to say a careless man will poison himself with drink, but I have never, in all of my days, come across a man who has fallen to something so trivial as a cigarette.”

Said nowadays? You sound like an ignorant fool. 1790? Aiden, you are such a badass.

(but also sort of an ignorant fool.)

—-

Book of Luke completion progress: 9%

The Noble Project completion progress: 2%

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

What say you?

