Gentlemenly Behavior

Guess what?! I’m a Mrs.! Wahooo!!! The wedding was perfect, the honeymoon was fantastic, and now that we are back at home, I am back here, typing furiously and pouring out fiction from every key on my keyboard. (That isn’t true. I have no use for F6-12)

So now that I’m back in the swing of things, I’m going to address one of my absolute favourite passages from TNP. Like, ever.

With a huff, Luke picked herself up from the ground and did her best to come close to his height. Seeing as he was nearly a full foot taller than she, her efforts went unnoticed.

“I wouldn’t have fallen,” she huffed, crossing her arms, “though if you’d taken your head out of your ass long enough to speak to me properly then maybe I wouldn’t have even bothered with the damned fish!”

“You have a filthy mouth for a woman who fancies herself a lady,” he growled, temper rising. His hands itched for his pistols. It would be easy to silence her.

“Well you have a filthy attitude for a man who considers himself a gentleman!” she shot back, pushing past  him. He caught her wrist expertly and pulled her back towards him just close enough to whisper in her ear, smiling.

“I have never considered myself a gentleman, Miss Avery.”

 

Now this is one of my favourites for several reasons. First, it’s sexy. It’s sexy in a really subtle way, which generally makes for the best sort of spine tingling, toe curling, lip biting and squeal inducing passage.

Second, it’s the first place where we see a hint of: this is the romantic pairing.

Third, these two just make me smile. They shouldn’t. They really shouldn’t, but they do. I love their aversion to each other throughout the entire series, even when they are romantically involved (but I won’t give anything away just yet). Everything is a battle between Luke and Aiden, and the winner is only determined by the one who hits the hardest, cuts the deepest, and has the last bitter, stinging word.

They are not your role models.

Book of Luke completion progress: 13%

The Noble Project completion progress: 3%

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

2 responses to “Gentlemenly Behavior

What say you?

