Morning Mist

When the ship docked on the fourth morning, Aiden stepped onto the deck to greet the morning fog. The port had barely woken; merchants were just setting up their wares and fishermen prepared their boats for the day’s trip to sea.

He wasn’t fond of this city; it was overcrowded and dirty. A large percentage of the population were supporters of the empire, and of Cale. This was a great inconvenience to him, but as dangerous a place as it was, this particular location was a necessity. Here they anchored without question and were able to pass through checkpoints as if they were invisible. Their roots here may have been few, but they were strong.

Wentworth wasn’t yet awake and neither was the chatty Miss Avery. She, as it turned out, slept like the dead. He didn’t want to grant her the beauty rest any other lady might deserve, but at the same time, the fewer hours in the day she had to speak, the better his days would progress.

An early riser, Aiden found solace in the dawn. The grey dusting of the Earth’s silent breath over the ground contrasting with the steadily pinking Eastern sky set his mind at ease. In those moments, no person spoke, no creature stirred, and he was, for a few brief moments, able to feel nothing at all.

Then, the first bird would chirp. Someone would shout a cheery hello, and from seemingly nowhere, crowds would pour through the streets and day was here.

One of the most important aspects of a successful and compelling character is to remember that they are human. This is, of course, my own personal opinion and I will never pretend to be an authority on the subject, but I suppose that’s my way of saying that round characters rock, for those of you unfamiliar with character types.

The importance of remembering this rests on me, as I am the one bringing you this story and if I fail,  you won’t be enjoying it very much. Sometimes I might go too far with a character’s dominant trait and have to go back and balance them out with their recessive, contrasting traits to make them less predictable, less boring, and more believable as human beings.

Aiden is the character that I tend to take and run with. He’s angry, violent, hurting, and straight up mean. I’m not sure why anyone likes him. I’m not sure why I like him.

Maybe it’s times like this, in the morning mist, where he isn’t so angry or violent, when his hurt can be forgotten about for a moment, and he can admit to enjoying something. Or at least not hating it. That might be more appropriate.

As The Noble Project series progresses, we will most certainly see more evidence to his humanity (along with some pretty nasty brutality), but I chose this particular scene because it is the first.

That and I’m listening to Enya.

Book of Luke completion progress: 15%

The Noble Project completion progress: 3%

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

What say you?

