Character Inspiration: Wentworth Simon

Wentworth Simon, fully addressed as:  Wentworth Maurice Goldsbury Simon is, hands down, one of the most entertaining characters to ever grace my brain. He was created almost immediately after Aiden Finnegan to balance him out, more or less. It is easy to say that Wentworth is the

to Aiden’s

But Mr. Simon is more than just a sidekick. He isn’t a stock character, and he has a lot more reasons to be around than I initially even gave him credit for. He has a history of his own, internal conflicts, and one big secret that could tip the fates of everyone if he so desired it.

One of my absolute favourite things about Wentworth is how easy it is to like him, to grin when he teases Aiden, or shake my head when he encourages Luke’s mischief. It is also so easy to forget the sort of man that he is. He is Aiden’s business partner. He seduces and sells human beings, then returns to his gilded carriage to be home for afternoon tea.

Even I forget that. That is why I like him the most. 🙂

When he came to mind, so did the actor I would cast for him. This is mostly due to the fact that I was watching Much Ado About Nothing, and I’m a bit of a Potterhead, but it simply can’t be helped. The man is a theatrical genius. So, in my perfect screenplay, Wentworth would be play by Kenneth Branagh.

If his name doesn’t ring a bell, think Dr. Loveless from Wild Wild West, various Shakespearean parts, and of course, my personal favourite:

Professor Gilderoy Lockhart

Oh yes. Mr. Simon and Miss Avery will be making quite a bit of trouble for our anti-hero in the days to come.

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

2 responses to “Character Inspiration: Wentworth Simon

  • christine andrade

    This stuff is so awesome! You’re super creative! I have 2 characters/ego states. Carla and Calvin. I which parts of personality they represent and what they look like, but i can’t draw, paint, sculp or do crafty things. So, they remain in my head unless one emerges and I become one of them. Oops, I’m rambling. I admire your style and creativity!!! How’s your little family? Pics are awesome!!!!!

What say you?

