I say ‘No’ to NaNoWriMo

Alright, alright, before all my fellow aspiring authors and authoresses jump on me for blasphemy, allow me to explain myself.

I like NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for those of you out of the loop) and the challenge it poses, (write a 50k word novel in the span of a month) this year I just can’t swing it. Every year I say I’m going to, like a bad New Year’s Resolution, that this year I’ll really crack down and plow ahead, regardless of the outcome!

Yeah, no.

I do have the NaNoWriMo Writer Daemon app for the iPhone (I’m not sure if it is available for android, but if it is, I fully recommend) and what’s so great about it is that (it has a cute little demon cheering you on) you can re-set it every month. I have another word count app that tracks total progress, which is also awesome. I think that one is just called Word Count Tool. Don’t quote me on that.

Anyway, here’s why I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo this year (aside from the fact that I suck at it):

1. I really can not start a new project.

2. Assuming that I was going to be unofficial about it and just attempt 50k of The Book of Luke, the second reason I’m not participating in this year’s challenge is that I set simple, and realistic goals for myself. Now, when broken down, 50k is not that much. It’s about… 1,667 word per day, which, isn’t too bad.

However, for me it just isn’t realistic. My full-time job is an exceedingly exhausting position as resident mother and homemaker and there are a lot of times where I just want to stare at images on iraffiruse.net and shove spaghettios into my mouth. You know, act my age.

I do have days where I write 1,667 words, and I have days where I write 3,145 words. I’ve had a 6k word day. I also have a who lot of 0 word days and you know what? When you have 0 word days, your daily word count goes up. Sometimes way up. So now instead of needing 1,667 wpd, I need 2, then 3, then 7k words to meet my goal and whoa. That’s overwhelming.

My monthly goal is 10,000 words., obviously, 120,000 words per year, which is the estimated length for The Book of Luke. (I do intend to have the first draft completed by next summer, ready for the first edit.) That averages about 334 wpd. I love that. Most night are between 550-800 word nights, which lowers my daily goals and the past two months I have exceeded my goals which makes me feel really great! On the flip side of that, if I’m bumming out for a couple of days, the count really doesn’t rise too much.

3. I don’t have the time. This was pretty much summed up on point #2, and again, where I do allot myself the 5 hours from 7pm-12am for fiction writing, sometimes (like tonight) the house needs to be in some state of order for the cleaning guy on Sunday morning. I have Sunday School to prep for. I design custom shoes. I actually want to read books.

I see a lot of bloggers post about making their 3, 4, 5,000 daily word count goal and I have to say I have all of their backs. To be able to consistently sit there and just crank out fiction like it’s no one’s business is a thing to be admired. I just can’t do it. When it’s there it’s there and when it isn’t, it isn’t.

So for all of you using October to prep for the big event in November, know that you all have my full support (I’ll be providing free coffee all month). I will be waiting on Nov. 30th with pillows and blankets for you all to pass out on! ๐Ÿ™‚

Me, I’ll be here plunking away for my 10k and when I surpass that I’ll be dancing around that I’m ahead of schedule.

Rock on, folks. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Frenchie Leigh

I am an avid writer of the romantically tragic, the fashionably brooding, and foolishly believing. Though my plot lines come to me through music, my writing style is most greatly influenced by my personal favourite authoresses: Julia Quinn and Eloisa James. View all posts by Frenchie Leigh

9 responses to “I say ‘No’ to NaNoWriMo

  • What have I done?????! | Zara ~ a writing story

    […] I say ‘No’ to NaNoWriMo (thenobleproject.wordpress.com) […]

  • October Blog Challenge | Suddenly they all died. The end.

    […] I say ‘No’ to NaNoWriMo (thenobleproject.wordpress.com) […]

  • Kay Lynn

    I sympathize. I’ve been trying to do NaNo for the last three years, which is essentially how long I’ve known about it. Last year is the closest I’ve come to meeting that 50k-in-30-days goal: I managed just over 11k. I learned a very important lesson along the way: NaNoWriMo is a wonderful idea, but November is one of the worst possible months to do something like this, what with Thanksgiving and the approach of Christmas. My family is swamped with get-togethers and I’m busy enough chasing around four kids while working part-time and trying to write and…What was I on about again?

    Anyway, that NaNo app sounds interesting. I’ll have to check the Android Market to see if they have it. Happy writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Frenchie Leigh

      You know, I never actually considered the fact that it was in November and you’re right! November has to be the most insane month out of the year to begin with. Why not make it somewhere boring like March? At least that would give us something to pass the insanely slow moving 5 weeks with.

      I think that it being in November makes it all the more impressive. Unless of course, those who actually achieve their goals shut out the festivities entirely, which is what I would have to do. I’m not superwoman.

      Thanks for stopping in! I hope Android has that app–it’s awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kay Lynn

        I think the only month that would be worse would be December, and I hope no one is crazy enough to try NaNoWriMo in December. March would be the perfect month – after all, NaNo would be the perfect distraction from all the dreariness that is not-quite-winter-but-not-quite-spring-yet weather. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Frenchie Leigh

        They probably assume that us writers have no real life. Holidays? Families? What’s that? *type type type type*

        ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Kay Lynn

        You might be right. It’s a silly assumption, though, isn’t it? After all, those kids running around didn’t just create themselves. Last I checked, humans are incapable of asexual reproduction. And someone has to feed us, clothe us, and occasionally dig us out from beneath the piles draft copies cluttering our work spaces before an untimely demise results. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Chicken Family

    Great blog. Keep up the good work. You’re gonna be a star, though I’m sure you already are in your husbands eyes. !mren

What say you?

